Recipe: Homemade dairy-free evaporated milk

So the other day I wanted to make some fudge – a goodie I can no longer have due to my intolerance to dairy. Unfortunately the recipe called for evaporated milk, something that is difficult to get hold of dairy-free. I researched a bit online and managed to suss out how to make my own.

Ingredients:

Twice as much dairy-free milk as you need (I used 3 cups of soya milk)

Method:

On the hob, bring the pan of ‘milk’ to the boil while stirring. Continue to boil it until it has halved in volume, took me about 30 -40 minutes. Then you’re done. Let it cool, or if you’re making fudge like I did, add the rest of the ingredients and follow your next recipe.

 

Enjoy!

 

(PS. Sorry there’s no photo for this one, I forgot!)

One thought on “Recipe: Homemade dairy-free evaporated milk

Leave a Reply

