Review: Gluten and dairy free at Pizza Express

On Tuesday, 25th June, 2013, I met a friend in Bournemouth; it was the half-way point between where we both live.


We did a little bit of window shopping, some actually shopping and a lot of catching up. It’s been almost a year since I last saw her.We decided to grab a bite to eat as neither of us had eaten yet and it was almost 2pm.
After a lot of Google research, we were making our way to Bella Italia as they do gluten-free pizza and pasta. As we were walking I spotted a Pizza Express; I remembered reading about the ‘new’ gluten-free pizza they offered. So we gave it a shot.

It was a very good decision. As I cannot have dairy either, I always feel a bit awkward eating out. Right from the moment we were seated I mentioned to the hostess that I was gluten and dairy intolerant, she told me to ensure I told our server.

At first I was going to have a pizza which had a pesto topping, then I realised that might cause a bit of confusion as pesto generally has cheese in it. So I order a classic American gluten-free pizza with extra chargrilled vegetables and no-cheese.

Our server looked a bit confused to start with as who goes to a pizza place and doesn’t eat cheese?! But she took our orders none-the-less. When we got our meals, I was straight-away impressed. No cheese! Yes, they got that part right, there’s hope I thought. Now, it just had to taste good and we might be on to something.

I took my first bite, WOW. It tasted amazing. The only pizza I have had in the last year or so is the gluten and dairy free pizza that Holland and Barrett sell in their freezers. This pizza was so much better, so fresh!

The dough had a sweetness to it, which isn’t to surprising as most gluten-free flours tend to be a bit sweeter than wheat-flours.

I only ate half of the pizza as I knew if I ate the whole pizza at once it would make me feel a bit ill – you can’t really win with IBS. So I asked for a box to take the rest home with me.

The service we received at the Pizza Express was outstanding. They were polite and friendly, and gave me no attitude when I asked for gluten and dairy free. It’s so nice to be given genuinely good service.

We even got student discount (10%), we decided to leave the 10% in a form of a tip instead.

Pizza Express on Post office Road, Bournemouth, BH1 1BB

2 thoughts on “Review: Gluten and dairy free at Pizza Express

Leave a Reply

