Happy Saint David’s Day – Welsh cake recipe

After living in Wales for just under 10 years, something was bound to rub off on me. I wasn’t able to pick up the language, I didn’t pick up a Welsh accent (well, not a strong one anyway), and I didn’t start my own sheep farm ( – it’s thought that there is three sheep to every person who lives in Wales).

However, I did learn to love certain Welsh traditions, like the Love Spoons and, in today’s case, their saint’s day, Saint David’s Day.

Photo of welsh flag on finger nails
I painted the Welsh flag on my finger nails

While I’ve been at university, I haven’t been able to travel back to Wales to celebrate the day with my family and Welsh friends. As a result, last year I painted the Welsh flag on my nails. This year, I decided to honor the day by heating up my last portion on Cawl, which I made last Semester and froze, I also went out of my way to make some gluten and dairy free Welsh Cakes!

It can be hard to make decent Welsh cakes without being able to put real Welsh butter in it. So, I scoured the internet in search for a decent gluten and dairy free recipe.

The result I chose to go with is from Pig in the Kitchen. The recipe is a bit different to the normal traditional ones as this recipe uses a lemon.

The recipe has also got instructions as to how to make them egg free too.

I’ve put the version I used below.

Gluten and dairy free Welsh cakes

Ingredients:

225g gluten-free self-raising flour
1 pinch of xanthan gum
1 pinch of salt
125g dairy-free margarine

80g sugar (+ extra for sprinkling)

35g currants/sultanas
1 egg yolk
1 lemon
(depending on the size of your lemon you may need) Approximately 6 tbsps dairy-free milk.
Method:

GF and DF welsh cakes
My homemade gluten and dairy free Welsh cakes
  • Place the flour, salt and xanthan gum into a mixing bowl.  Add the zest of the lemon and the dairy free margarine.  Rub the fat into the flour with your fingertips until the mix looks like fine breadcrumbs
  • Add the sugar and sultanas and stir.
  • Make a well in the centre and add the egg yolk and mix to combine.  Squeeze some juice from your lemon into the mix and stir/work it until you have a soft, fairly wet dough (if it’s too dry, use some of the dairy-free milk).
    (I change the method a bit from here).
  • Put some of the spare flour on your hands to stop the dough from sticking. Take a small ball of the dough and flatten it out between your palms – to about 1cm in thickness.
  • Place the flattened dough into a lightly greased frying pan (on mid-heat) and cook on each side for about 4-5 minutes (or until golden). – Don’t worry if they seem uncooked in the middle as they continue to cook a bit after they’re removed from the pan, plus they taste nicer that way.
  • Once cooked dip in some sugar and place on a plate.
  • And you’re done. Enjoy. I made about 12.

Dydd Gwŷl Dewi Sant hapus!

Leave a Reply

